The new Niagara Regional Council held their Inaugural Meeting this evening.

Lots of people packed the Niagara Regional Headquarters in Thorold, to see Jim Bradley appointed to the Regional Chair position.

After serving St. Catharines City Council for seven and a half years in the 1970’s and spending 41 years as the Liberal MPP for St. Catharines after that; he is looking forward to this next term.

“It’s going to be new for me. There will be some challenges here that I know I will receive some help from staff and from other members of council. We in the Region have a tremendous staff and a great team of people working on behalf of people in the Niagara Region. We want to ensure that as we go into the future, that continues.”

Bradley also thinks council is going to have an interesting dynamic; with only a handful of mayors and regional councillors returning.

“They will be able to provide for us some background and experience, the ones that will be here. The others are going to be new and I am going to be new so there will be a fresh approach to a lot of the issues.”

The returning Mayors include Wayne Redekop of Fort Erie, Sandra Easton of Lincoln, Walter Sendzik of St. Catharines, Frank Campion of Welland and Jim Diodati of Niagara Falls.

Another big highlight of the night was Diodati’s opening remarks. He said he was glad to be back after about six months, and only has three more treatments left for Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

As their first act as Regional Council; they passed a motion to appoint a representative from each municipality to the Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority Board for an interim basis of three months. Those representatives are as follows;

West Lincoln – Mayor Dave Bylsma

Welland – Pat Chiocchio

Lincoln – Robert Foster

Wainfleet – Mayor Kevin Gibson

Niagara Falls – Barbara Greenwood

St. Catharines – Brian Heit

Pelham – Diana Huson

Fort Erie – Tom Insinna

Grimsby – Mayor Jeff Jordan

Port Colborne – Mayor Bill Steele

Thorold – Tim Whalen

Niagara-on-the-Lake – Gary Zalepa

The next Regional Council meeting will take place on Thursday December 13th.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here